Cat Calder
Fri 5th November 2010
rating providor

Excellent stay in the centre of Whitby

We were looking for a something to rent in Whitby itself for a week that catered for our grown up sons to join us for part of the week. We were really pleased with abbey View. Its location is perfect, and pretty much once you have arrived and been lucky enough to find a parking space you could choose to not use your car again until you left. Located minutes from the beach, the train station (you even see the steam trains coming and going when you are washing up), restaurants, shops (including a supermarket), the habour and the abbey itself, it was just what we wanted. The house itself is over 4 floors, and the bedrooms are all lovely. The kitchen, though huge, was slightly oddly laid out so you always seem to be a long way from something you needed and I really struggled to get on with the cooker and there were no manuals to assist me. I don't do too much cooking on a week's holiday but do expect to be able to produce a decent cooked breakfast, but we got there in the end. We particularly enjoyed the food at the famous Magpie Cafe (there are a limited number of tables you can book but do this before you go) and walking along the beach to Sandsend. Would recommend the house and Whitby to friends and plan to return.

Jackson
Fri 23rd July 2010
rating providor

Very Pleasant

Super accommodation, tastefully decorated and very modern with all mod cons. Only drawback was extremely poor parking arrangements.

Mrs Foster
Fri 20th April 2012
rating providor

Fabulous

Lovely, well decorated , warm house. Great position. Very helpful couple where we collected the key. Great location Just remember to take towels... Would definately rent the house again Feiendly helpful owner

julie r
Wed 18th April 2012
rating providor

Great place to stay :-)

We have stayed in this property for long weekend breaks in Feb 2011 & Feb 2012. Lovely big house with a fantastic kitchen, very clean & well presented property, only a few minutes walk from the shops. Look forward to our feb break in 2013!

Whitby Goth Weekender
Tue 2nd July 2013
rating providor

Wonderful!

Our group of 6 found this cottage to be very almost perfect! Apart from oven gloves and tea towels the place was amazing. Catered for our holiday perfectly. The yard out back is just big enough to do those little disposable Bbq's if you are ok to then eat inside. The place was clean and welcoming. Great location far enough away from the main roads to get good sleep even with the windows open but close enough to the town and beach. The co-op is less then 5 minutes walk away, be wary it is up hill on the way back so if you buy lots of booze and other heavy stuff best to take a few of you to help carry. Parking is a bit of pot luck but still quite readily available. Sat Navs don't like finding this place and take you right past it so best to keep an eye out when you know you are close. I would be more then happy to book this again for future Wgw's.

diane c
Tue 23rd July 2013
rating providor

Very average

I think people are often afraid to put bad reviews on, which in a way often spoils it for people looking for decent accommodation. The good points, lovely kitchen, short walk to Whitby centre. The rest of the house looked like it needed a good make over. With no character at all. The carpets were very shabby and full of dog hairs. I have stopped in several places in Whitby, all of which I would reccommend I would not reccommend this or stop here again.