Laura B
Mon 2nd September 2013
rating providor

Amazing lodge, immaculately clean and within easy reach of lots

We spent an amazing week here - we were two families, 4 adults, 4 children (aged 4-7) and the lodge was perfect! Inside was a comfortable living area with a sofa big enough for all 8 of us, a dining area with a table that sat 8 and a well equipped kitchen. The downstairs bathroom was stunning (wet room) and the two bedrooms were perfect for one of the families (a double and a twin). Upstairs (accessed by an external staircase) were two twin rooms seperated by a lovely bathroom (with shower) and a kitchenette (toaster, 2 ring hob, kettle, sink) - perfect for a second family! The only downside to the upstairs was that one couple had to sleep in twin beds rather than a double but we got round that!!! ;o) The grounds were perfect for the kids to run around in without us worrying about traffic or them running off, there was a BBQ and the hot tub was amazing!!! Locally there were lots of things to explore, lots of little villages and quiet local beaches while Minehead (for Morrisons and Tesco) was only a 15min drive away - Tropiquaria across the road was fun and the monkeys were a fun alarm call!!! We got a take-away one evening from Mama Chins in Watchett (they deliver and you can pay by card) and it was the best Chinese I've had in a long time! Overall an amazing holiday in an amazing lodge, looking into booking again next year...

Tiffany2504
Wed 24th September 2014
rating providor

Fantastic Stay

We stayed at the Hazel lodge in September 2014 for a holiday with my husband, his sister and her partner. The lodge was well placed, with all of the amenities that you would need for a good holiday, with the lodge being split into two with outside access, it was perfect for two couples to independently be able to share and have separate holidays at the same time. The upstairs had its own mini kitchen so you can get up and start your day without disturbing anyone downstairs. The hot tub was great, you cannot use from 15:00 the day before leaving but this is so they can empty and clean for the next guest, so it is nice to know that it was clean for us on first use. Dunstar Castle is a must go if you vist, also if you go to Blue Anchor Beach the café there (driftwood café) is a great spot for a bit of lunch.

Laura B
Mon 2nd September 2013
rating providor

Amazing lodge, immaculately clean and within easy reach of lots go do with the kids

We spent an amazing week here - we were two families, 4 adults, 4 children (aged 4-7) and the lodge was perfect! Inside was a comfortable living area with a sofa big enough for all 8 of us, a dining area with a table that sat 8 and a well equipped kitchen. The downstairs bathroom was stunning (wet room) and the two bedrooms were perfect for one of the families (a double and a twin). Upstairs (accessed by an external staircase) were two twin rooms seperated by a lovely bathroom (with shower) and a kitchenette (toaster, 2 ring hob, kettle, sink) - perfect for a second family! The only downside to the upstairs was that one couple had to sleep in twin beds rather than a double but we got round that!!! ;o) The grounds were perfect for the kids to run around in without us worrying about traffic or them running off, there was a BBQ and the hot tub was AMAZING!!! Locally there were lots of things to explore, lots of little villages and quiet local beaches while Minehead (for Morrisons and Tesco) was only a 15min drive away - Tropiquaria across the road was fun and the monkeys were a fun alarm call!!!! We got a take-away one evening from Mama Chins in Watchett (they deliver and you can pay by card) and it was the best Chinese I've had in a long time! Overall an amazing holiday in an amazing lodge, looking into booking again next year....

264charlie
Wed 23rd November 2016
rating providor

Excellent Break

Has a party of 8 normally we would be tripping over each other but this wasn't the case has our accommodation was reasonably well spaced for a medium sized Lodge, The 2nd floor helped with this as the children had there own space leaving the adults to enjoy our well deserved relaxing break, The hot tube was brilliant and kept well maintained, The weather was a total washout but didn't effect our holiday what so ever, the Hot tube was well covered so we still had use of that My only criticism would be no Wi-Fi but I personally found that not a problem giving Us all some long over due family time and interaction. I know the owners are looking into Wi Ffor the future If you do need some family bonding and a relaxing holiday, Gemma was very helpful and accommodating I would strongly recommend this break to everyone, Best regards The Ferguson Family” Mr Ferguson, West Bromwich, November 2016

Stuwillo87
Tue 22nd November 2016
rating providor

Mr

Honestly couldn't praise this place enough, there were 7 of us and a dog staying in the lodge and found the split upstairs and downstairs gave the group plenty of space. The hot tub was amazing and as another reviewer states it does back onto another hottub,however, it's not overlooked as there is a 20 foot wall between the 2 and when you're in the hot tub you can't hear next door. Staff were really friendly and helpful and checked in that everything was OK throughout our stay and also recommended local places to eat and visit when asked. Great pub near by that is dog friendly, and plenty of local activities such as walks, the castle, harbour etc. Overall would certainly recommend staying here if you want a relaxing holiday with plenty to do if you don't mind 10 minutes in the car.

Dawn S
Mon 21st November 2016
rating providor

RELAXED LUXURY

Needed a much needed break away from a hectic job, so booked this lodge because of the hot tub and local amenities. The location is great for fantastic walks on the edge of the Brendon Hills and there is a great pub at the top of the hill. The accommodation was excellent. It was spotlessly clean. It was great we could take our two dogs who enjoyed the gardens immensely. The kitchen was fully equipped with everything you could need, not that we did much cooking. There is a great Indian down the road that delivers! It was reassuring to know that the hot tubs are completely emptied and cleaned after every guest. Overall a great stay and would like to thank the hosts Lynn and Lloyd for a lovely getaway!